Peer Comment: Erin Floyd Marvin Gaye

Hey Erin, I love your analyst on Marvin Gaye’s album “What’s Going On.” I completely agree with you when you said that you could listen to this album all day. It truly is an iconic piece of art that I hope gets carried on through the ages. I think that the theme that protests the war was a very powerful theme that really reflects the negative impact that the Vietnam War had on Marvin’s brother and America in general. I don’t feel that this album would have had near the same impact if Frankie Gaye had not been in the war to give Marvin a real inside look to how it was affecting everyone involved. I guess Berry Gordy didn’t know what he was talking about.

Leave a Reply

